APSEA 2018

The Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards were held on Tuesday 9 April 2019, an outstanding opportunity to highlight the dedication and innovation of the professionals in our industry. 

The overall industry and individual winners were chosen from the 2018 State, NZ & Pacific winners and announced at the Gala Dinner, along with the winners of the 2018 Geospatial Information Competition and two special Honorary Fellowships for SSSI past presidents, Gaby van Wyk and Michael Guidici.

Read Spatial Source’s story from the evening here.

It truly was a fantastic night of celebration, networking and fine food and drink!  Congratulations to all the worthy recipients. 

For more information on the winners, visit www.apsea.org.au



AWARD: Professional of the Year

RECIPIENT: Elaine McAlister, NZ

"In addition to Elaine’s impressive work history and raving reviews from her peers, what really stands out is her commitment to encouraging and supporting women in the surveying and geospatial industries through the Women in Spatial group she established. This group has helped many women’s careers to succeed in the spatial industry."

AWARD: Young Professional of the Year

RECIPIENT: Nicholas Brown, ACT

"Nicholas leads the Geodesy Section at Geoscience Australia and is a natural leader who mentors fellow researchers in the area of Geodesy. His innovation-focussed leadership has seen him driving strategic support in Geodesy community in Australia. He is an exemplary role model who has raised the profile of the Geodesy profession at every opportunity. Nicholas leads the development of standards for the encoding and transfer of geodetic data and meta data at the Australian level, interacting with various states and territories. Internationally, Nicholas participates in the ISO Technical Committee TC 211 on behalf of Standards Australia."

AWARD: Women's Leadership Award

RECIPIENT: Kathryn Salm, NZ

"Kat leads by example in her contribution to the spatial profession as a whole and has held many diverse and senior roles across the geospatial sector. These roles have inspired and continue to contribute to the profession, and the way that women look to their careers within this sector."


AWARD: Undergraduate of the Year

RECIPIENT: Scott Johnson, QLD

"Scott’s project was on investigating the accuracy and precision of multiple GNSS combinations in Australia. This project recognised that to ensure the profession, and subsequently the general community, could benefit from the increased exposure to additional GNSS, it was important to further understand the potential performances of various GNSS combinations. Currently Scott is working within the Queensland State Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy. The judges felt his project reminds surveyors that the need for greater understanding is useful for current issues."

AWARD: Postgraduate of the Year

RECIPIENT: Safoora Zaminparda, WA

"Dr Zaminpardaz focus on the new navigation satellite signals from the global and regional satellite systems and combining them into processing models is highly complex and brings with it new challenges and error sources.  She has demonstrated a thorough understanding of these new systems through this comprehensive and thorough research.  Safoora’s research is of a very high calibre to receive an A score from international examiners and producing 12 peer reviewed scientific papers is exceptional.  As a professional, Safoora has taken the "extra mile" and her diligence is obvious."

AWARD: Educational Development Award

RECIPIENT: Dr Jonathan Osborn, TAS

"Jon’s conscientious, deliberate and well-grounded approach to his teaching has guided many in the profession and served as a marker for many in academia. Jon’s management and mentoring has extended across many staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students, shaping their contributions to the discipline and profession. Jon has initiated, developed and maintained meaningful links into industry as evidenced by his role as the University’s representative on many industry committees and his personal involvement within the professional organisations both in Tasmania and nationally."

Additional SSSI Awards


AWARD: Professional Eminence Award

RECIPIENT: Gary Johnston





AWARD: President's Award

RECIPIENT: Stuart Minchin





AWARD: Geospatial Information Competition

RECIPIENT: Lizzie and Micah, Nowra Christian College

For more information on the competition, and the winners, please visit www.geospatialscience.com.au/competition





  • Environment and Sustainability Award - Ethos Environmental
  • Innovation & Commercialisation Award - Decipher and NGIS Australia
  • People & Community Award - Pacific Flying Labs
  • Technical Excellence Award - Bennett + Bennett
  • Spatial Enablement Award - Land Solution Australia/Monitum


  • SIBA|GITA Chairman’s Award – 3D Qld
  • GITA Excellence Award – AECOM
  • SIBA|GITA JK Barrie Award - Decipher and NGIS Australia
  • SIBA|GITA Dial Before You Dig Award - Telstra

APSEA Regional Award Winners 2018