APSEA 2019

The Oceanic Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards were held virtually on Thursday 28 May 2020, taking the opportunity in the midst of COVID-19 to still recognise the achievements of professionals in our industry. 

The overall industry and individual winners were chosen from the 2019 State and New Zealand winners. Congratulations to all the worthy recipients!

For more information on all of the winners, please visit www.apsea.org.au



Professional of the Year

Craig Sandy Surveyor General of Victoria

Young Professional of the Year

Melissa Harrington Chair, Young Surveyors Network, FIG and General Manager, SITECH Hawai'i

Women's Leadership Award

Highly Commended: Eva Rodriguez Rodriguez Strategy Manager, FrontierSI and Research Program Manager SmartSatCRC
Winner: Dr Charity Mundava Spatial Scientist, WaterNSW

Undergraduate of the Year

Highly Commended:  Andrew Campbell Spatial Developer, City of Melbourne
Winner: Kent Olive Spatial Analyst, University of the Sunshine Coast

Postgraduate of the Year

Dr Mehdi Khaki Lecturer, School of Engineering, The University of Newcastle

Educational Development Award

Prof Stephan Winter Professor of Geographic Information Science, University of Melbourne AND Michael Neitschke Senior Licensed Surveyor & Project Manager, Alexander Symonds

Professional Eminence Award

Chris Body Geospatial Standards Architect and Chair, Standards Australia IT-004 Geographic Information Committee, Office of Spatial Policy

President's Award

SSSI National Young Professionals Committee


  • Environment and Sustainability Award - Spatial Vision Embedding Climate Change into Agriculture (ECAiA) - North East Catchment Management Authority
  • Export Award - Spatial Vision, FrontierSI & General Commission of Survey, KSA Strategy for the development of a competitive environment for the provision of survey and geospatial data, products, and services for the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Innovation & Commercialisation Award - Trimble Inc Trimble SiteVision
  • People & Community Award - FrontierSI and QUT Virtual Reef Diver
  • Spatial Enablement Award and JK Barrie Award - Australian Cancer Atlas
  • Technical Excellence Award - Land Surveys, FAL Team Forrestfield-Airport Link Refectorless Airside Monitoring
  • SIBA|GITA Chair’s Award – Narelle Underwood Surveyor-General of NSW