APSEALIVE a great success - nominate for 2020 now!

May 29, 2020

There may not have been champagne and frocks (though some of the hosts and winners looked very dapper in their bow ties!), but the winners of 2019 season of the Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards were still celebrated in style last night.

The award recipients were announced by SSSI President, Zaffar Sadiq Mohamed-Ghouse and SIBA|GITA Chair Daniel Harvey via Zoom, with winners and supporters joining from across the country and the world.

The proud and deserving winners of the SSSI individual awards were:

  • Professional of the Year - Craig Sandy
  • Young Professional of the Year - Melissa Harrington
  • Women's Leadership Award - Highly Commended: Eva Rodriguez Rodriguez Winner: Dr Charity Mundava 
  • Undergraduate of the Year - Highly Commended:  Andrew Campbell  Winner: Kent Olive 
  • Postgraduate of the Year - Dr Mehdi Khaki 
  • Educational Development Award - Prof Stephan Winter and Michael Neitschke 
  • Professional Eminence Award - Chris Body 
  • President's Award - SSSI National Young Professionals Committee


SIBA|GITA's industry award winners were:

  • Environment and Sustainability Award - Spatial Vision
  • Export Award - Spatial Vision, FrontierSI & General Commission of Survey, KSA
  • Innovation & Commercialisation Award - Trimble Inc
  • People & Community Award - FrontierSI and QUT
  • Spatial Enablement Award and JK Barrie Award - Australian Cancer Atlas
  • Technical Excellence Award - Land Surveys, FAL Team
  • SIBA|GITA Chair’s Award – Narelle Underwood

Click here for more details on the APSEA winners.

We also took the chance to announce a number recent SSSI Fellowships.

Honorary Fellows

  • Gypsy Bhalla
  • Prof Abbas Rajabifard
  • Assoc Prof Chris Bellman


  • Peter Kinne
  • Assoc Prof Dipak Paudyal

And finally, the night finished with a nod to the future of the profession, with the annoucement of the winners of the 2019 Geospatial Information Competition, a program to get high school students involved with spatial science. The winners were James Jeffrey and Chase Lolani from Wavell State High School in Brisbane. Visit the Geospatial Science website for more information on their fantastic project as well as the runners up details.

While without the traditional trophies and handshakes, it was still a fantastic event, recognising the outstanding people and projects in the surveying and spatial industry.

2020 nominations are now open!

Inspired by some of the 2019 winners of the awards?  Then start thinking about nominating this year!

Nominations for the 2020 season are now open - for all the details, check out our APSEA page.

Back to News List