Changes in SSSI Board Membership

September 18, 2018

The SSSI Annual General Meeting was held last Friday, 14 September 2018 in Launceston, Tasmania. 

During the AGM a number of SSSI Board Directors were declared elected, having been nominated by the voting regions:

Regular Biennial Elections
Australian Capital Territory: no nominations - the Board will consider options to fill the casual vacancy.
Northern Territory: Rob Sarib (sole nominee).
Queensland: Lee Hellen (two nominees - elected by a ballot of Queensland members).
Victoria: Richard Syme (sole nominee).

Casual Vacancy
New South Wales:  Wayne Patterson (sole nominee).

During the AGM, Dr Zaffar Sadiq Mohamed-Ghouse was invested as our new SSSI President. I welcome Zaffar and look forward to working with him to build a stronger, better SSSI. The Board subsequently elected Paul Digney as President Elect and I offer Paul my congratulations and support.

I’d like to thank our Immediate Past President, Gaby van Wyk, for all his hard work over the last two years.  His dedication has ensured that SSSI will continue to grow and benefit from his legacy.

The new SSSI Board for 2018/19 can be viewed by clicking here.

To view the SSSI Annual Report for 2017/18 please click here.


Peter Olah

Back to News List