SSSI VIC News – June 2019

May 31, 2019




Locate is over for another year. There were more than 150 speakers, 40 exhibitors and  close to 900 delegates. Congratulations to the co-convenors Glen Cockerton and Kate Williams and their organising committee! For those who weren’t able to attend, read on for some of the event highlights at this link. Locate20 will be held in Brisbane.
Congratulations also go to the Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEA) individual winners:

President's Award: Dr Stuart Minchin
Professional Eminence Award: Gary Johnston
Professional of the Year: Elaine McAlister, NZ
Young Professional of the Year: Nicholas Brown, ACT
Women's Leadership Award: Dr Kathryn Salm, NZ
Educational Development Award: Dr Jonathan Osborn, TAS
Educational Development Highly Commended: Dr Mohsen Kalantari VIC
Undergraduate of the Year: Scott Johnson, QLD
Postgraduate of the Year: Dr Safoora Zaminparda, WA
Are you aware that one of the benefits of SSSI membership is access to Member Advantage, through which you can enjoy exclusive discounts across a range of products and services including Dining and Entertainment, Shopping, Travel, Technology, Finance and Wealth Insurance. You can also search local dining and entertainment discounts via a map on your smartphone. For more details on the Member Advantage program click here.
Make a note now for the Victorian Surveying and Spatial Summit 2019 which will be held on Friday 30 August at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club and the APSEAV Awards on Thursday 29 August at the same venue. Nominations for the Awards are now open. 
Don’t forget SEASC 2019 the South East Asian Surveying Conference to be held in Darwin 15–18 August. Click here for the SEASC website.
Lindsay Perry
Chair, SSSI Victoria

SSSI Victoria would like to welcome our new members: 
  1. Nicole Kiely, SICC - Member
  2. Mona Siroha, SICC - Member
  3. Andrew Stewart, EMSC - Member
  4. Zhe (Zac) Wang, SICC - Member



SEASC 2019

15-18 August, Darwin Convention Centre - Full Program here.

Summit & APSEAV 2019

Thursday 29 August Awards & Friday 30 August Summit, Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club.

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards - Victoria. Below are the Award Categories:

Celebrating our achievements is an important step in growing our industry and in promoting it as an innovative and exciting prospect for investment, study and employment.
The winners of APSEA Victoria 2019 awards are automatically nominated for the National APSEA Awards in 2020.
Nominations of Individual Awards in Victoria close Monday 22 July 2019.


Please click here for the industry news as at June 2019.

  • DELWP News
  • Recent Planning Scheme Amendments
  • Smart Planning - The Amendment Tracking System (ATS) Authoring Roll-Out
  • Planning Panels Victoria (PPV) Revised Guide To Expert Evidence
  • Bushfire Planning Workshop To Be Delivered By DELWP


Back to News List