Licensing Information

Surveying information and guidelines are available in every State and Territory in Australia and in New Zealand for both the public and for professionals:

  • Find a registered surveyor;
  • Make a complaint;
  • Access relevant legislation, reports, and more information;
  • Access surveying legislation and regulations;
  • Practice guidelines and Surveying-Drafting Manuals;
  • Register in your area; and
  • Transfer your registration to another state/territory.

More information can also be found at the Council for the Reciprocating Surveyors Board of Australia and New Zealand (CRSBANZ). The links below provide details of the licensing/registration requirements of each jurisdiction.

Functions of the Boards of Surveyors

Although the specific functions of the Boards varies between jurisdictions their primary function is the registration or licensing of surveyors to conduct land title surveys. The Boards consequently set standards of education and practical experience for the registration or licensing of surveyors. The Boards also advise and make recommendations on standards and procedures relating to surveys for land title and tenures, and on the administration of survey matters.

In addition, the Boards exercise certain disciplinary powers in cases where a surveyor is charged with negligence, incompetence, falsification or failure to observe the Survey Regulations.
Persons registered with a Board are deemed to be competent.

QLD - Surveyors Board Queensland

The Surveyors Board of Queensland (SBQ) is constituted under Section 7 of the Surveyors Act 2003. The SBQ performs the functions set out in the Act and is accountable to the Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

NSW - Board of Surveying and Spatial Information

The Board of Surveying and Spatial Information is constituted under the Surveying and Spatial Information Act, 2002 to provide for the registration of land and mining surveyors, to regulate the making of surveys and to advise the Minister on spatial information.

ACT - Australian Capital Territory Planning and Land Authority

Within ACTPLA, the Chief Surveyor performs a range of duties in administering the practice of surveying in the ACT. The Chief Surveyor represents the ACT in forums concerned with surveyors and the practice of surveying.

SA - Surveyors Board of South Australia

The Surveyors Board of SA's  primary functions involve training, licensing and registration of surveyors in South Australia, and the maintenance of standards and professional conduct of our State's licensed and registered surveyors.

VIC - Surveyors Registration Board of Victoria

The Board is responsible for the registration of Licensed Surveyors to perform cadastral surveying in Victoria.

WA - Land Surveyors Licensing Board of Western Australia

The Land Surveyors' Licensing Board of Western Australia is constituted under Section 4 of the Licensed Surveyors Act, 19091976. The Board consists of six members comprising the Surveyor General ex officio, two members nominated by the Surveyor General, two members nominated by the Institution of Surveyors Australia, WA Division and one member nominated by an education institution.

NT - Surveyors Board Northern Territory

The Surveyors Board of the Northern Territory of Australia is constituted under Section 8 of the Licensed Surveyor Act to regulate the practice of land boundary surveying and the registration of land boundary surveyors.

TAS - Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment

DPIPWE administers and regulates the registration and practice of surveyors in Tasmania.

NZ - Cadastral Surveyors Licensing Board New Zealand

The primary function being the licensing of cadastral surveyors competent to conduct cadastral (land title) surveys. The Board consequently sets standards of education and practical experience required for the licensing of surveyors. The Board also exercises certain disciplinary powers as set out in Part 4 and Schedule 2 of the Cadastral Survey Act 2002.