2017 Winners

The 2017 Queensland Spatial Excellence Awards were a great opportunity to showcase Queensland's innovative projects and individuals.

The Awards were presented on Friday 1 December 2017 at a gala dinner, in the beautiful Queens Ballroom of the Hilton Hotel, Brisbane.  We celebrated the excellence in the industry and enjoyed a great night with colleagues and industry partners.

To view photos of the evening click here.

The deserving winners for 2017 were:

SSSI Professional of the Year - Kevin McDougall

SSSI Young Professional of the Year - Dale Atkinson

SSSI Educational Development Award - Stuart Phinn

SSSI Postgraduate Student Award - Rebecca Runting

SSSI Undergraduate Student Award (Clem Jones Medal) - Leigh Tingle

SSSI Special Achievement Award - Ken Melchert

SSSI Women's Leadership Award - Megan Dillon

SSSI Service to the Surveying and Spatial Sciences Community Award - Peter Swan

Given the strength of some of the nominations, the judges this year also awarded three Highly Commended Awards:

SSSI Young Professional of the Year Award - Ben Moritz
SSSI Undergraduate Student Award - John Tasker and Scott Archbold

.Congratulations to all nominees and winners on your achievements!

Award Categories

Full categories and descriptions for Individual Awards can be found by clicking here.
You can also view the Spatial Excellence Awards Information Kit which has full details for Industry (Organisation) Awards by clicking 


We would like to thank our Sponsors: