Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards - WA

The Western Australia Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEA-WA) celebrates the achievements of top spatial information enterprises and showcases the finest projects that the Western Australia Spatial Industry has to offer. Projects and individuals attaining recognition at this premier event are deemed to be truly outstanding achievers and pre-eminent in their field.

APSEA-WA provides a stepping stone for individuals to be nominated in the Oceanic Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (presented at the annual Locate Conference) - the only awards for the Asia Pacific region that recognise the  achievements of both individuals and organisations engaged in the spatial information industry in this region at a single event.

Previous years have seen an excellent standard of competition, with a diverse range of individuals and organisations nominated. 

The awards are jointly hosted by the two organisations that created the concept and actively promote it: the Spatial Industries Business Association (SIBA) and the Surveying & Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI).

The SSSI WA Individual Professional Awards categories include:

  • SSSI Professional of the Year
  • SSSI Young Professional of the Year 
  • SSSI Women’s Leadership Award
  • SSSI Educational Development Award 
  • SSSI Postgraduate Student Award
  • SSSI Undergraduate Student Award
  • SSSI Vocational Education Training (VET) Award (Regional & National)
  • ​SSSI Special Achievement Award


We are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2019 awards! Please visit the APSEA website for more information or click here to nominate.

The deadline for individual and industry nominations is Friday, 9th August, 2019


Thanks to all those who supported the 2018 Awards. Please click here to see our fantastic 2018 SSSI winners.

WASEA 2017 Winners

SSSI WA congratulate the winners of this year's WASEA Individual Awards, announced at the Gala Cocktail Party at the University Club, Friday 13th October 2017.

  • Dione Bilick - Professional of the Year
  • Patricia Burke - Women's Leadership Award
  • Petra Helmholz - Education Development Award
  • David Ibbotson - Young Professional of the Year Award
  • Khandu - Postgraduate Student Award
  • Lewis Walsh - Undergraduate Student Award

They now progress as finalists to the Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards to be held in Adelaide next year.

The immediate past SSSI WA Chair, Kerry Smyth, also awarded two citations for longstanding support to the Institute and the spatial industry to Peter Douglas and Tony Snow.

Latest Western Australia News

SAVE THE DATE - SSSI National Bushfire Recovery Map-a-thon

SAVE THE DATE - SSSI National Bushfire Recovery Map-a-thon

SSSI National Bushfire Recovery Map-a-thon is being held on Sunday, 9th February, 2020 from 10am - 4pm. Register your interest to attend at: 

read more
SSSI National Bushfire Recovery Map-a-thon

SSSI National Bushfire Recovery Map-a-thon

Register your interest to participate in the SSSI National Bushfire Recovery Map-a-thon

read more
Discount for SSSI members for major mining event

Discount for SSSI members for major mining event

Attend the Future of Mining Conference in Sydney in March 2020!

read more